About Us

About Us

Scientific Advisory Board

Craig M. Crews, Ph.D.

Dr. Crews is the Founder and Chief Scientific Advisor of Arvinas, as well as the L.B. Cullman Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, Chemistry and Pharmacology at Yale University.

Dr. Crews’ research focuses on the design, syntheses and evaluation of small molecule regulators of intracellular protein levels and their development as novel therapeutics. YU101, a novel proteasome inhibitor from his lab, served as the lead asset of Proteolix, Inc. (purchased by Onyx in 2009; acquired by Amgen in 2013) and  became carfilzomib/Kyprolis™, which received FDA approval for relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma in 2012.

Peter Farina, Ph.D.

Dr. Farina is an Executive in Residence at Canaan Partners, a venture capital firm where he assesses and advises on pharmaceutical, biotechnology and healthcare investments. He is also Managing Partner of Salient Science & Technology, LLC, a consulting firm that advises several U.S. and Chinese biotech firms on strategic and technical matters in pharmaceutical R&D. Dr. Farina currently serves as the Co-Chair and Board Member of the Connecticut United for Research Excellence (CURE) organization, and is on the Advisory Board of the University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy. He is also a member of the NIH Blueprint Neurotherapeutics Network steering committee, the Emory University DRIVE Advisory Board, and was a Founder and CEO of Developing World Cures, a nonprofit company working on neglected diseases.

Dr. Farina retired in 2008 as Senior Vice President of Development at Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, where he was responsible for North American development of drugs in the therapeutic areas of immunology/inflammation, virology and cardiovascular disease. During his tenure, his interdisciplinary team worked on the development and successful registration of Aptivus®, an HIV protease inhibitor, Viramune XR® for HIV, and Atrovent HFA® for COPD and emphysema. Previously, he served as Vice President of Research at the Ridgefield Center. He has also held positions as the Director of Inflammatory Diseases and Director of Biochemistry over his 28-year career with Boehringer Ingelheim (BI). Prior to joining BI, he spent six years in the Corporate Research Laboratories and Medical Products Division of Union Carbide Corporation, where he did research and development of immunodiagnostics.

Dr. Farina has a Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from SUNY Buffalo and did postdoctoral work in Bioorganic Chemistry at Pennsylvania State University with Dr. Stephen Benkovic.

Mark Murcko, Ph.D.

Dr. Murcko, Principal at Disruptive Biomedical, LLC is an independent consultant and Professor of Practice at both MIT and Northeastern. Until November 2011, he was Chief Technology Officer and Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board of Vertex Pharmaceuticals. In the former role, he was responsible for the identification, validation and incorporation of disruptive technologies across global R&D. Dr. Murcko is a co-inventor of Incivek™ (telaprevir), the world’s most widely prescribed HCV protease inhibitor, Agenerase™ (amprenavir) and Lexiva™ (fosamprenavir), Vertex’s two marketed drugs for HIV. In addition, he guided the early efforts of Vertex’s cystic fibrosis program that produced the marketed drug Kalydeco® (ivacaftor) and several other compounds currently in late stage development.

Dr. Murcko is also a co-inventor of eight clinical candidates in the areas of cancer, inflammation/immunology and infectious disease. Prior to Vertex, Dr. Murcko worked at Merck Sharp & Dohme. He has served on the editorial boards of many scientific publications, was the co-organizer of the 2008 ACS National Medicinal Chemistry Symposium, and served as Chair of the 2013 Gordon Research Conference in Medicinal Chemistry. He is a co-inventor on more than 45 issued patents, has co-authored more than 85 scientific articles, and has delivered more than 130 invited lectures.

Richard, J. Ulevitch, Ph.D.

Dr. Ulevitch is a Venture Partner at 5AM Ventures. Previously, he was Professor and Chairman of the Department of Immunology at The Scripps Research Institute, where he is a Professor and Chairman Emeritus. For nearly three decades, Dr. Ulevitch has performed research to understand the role of the immune system in human disease.

He serves as a Scientific Advisor to Aravis Ventures, a European life science venture capital fund and previously served as an advisor to the Lombard Odier Immunology Fund. There he evaluated numerous biotechnology companies over a 15-year span. Dr. Ulevitch serves on the Scientific Advisory Boards of Cleave Biosciences, Igenica Biotherapeutics, Pulmatrix and RuiYi (previously Anaphore). He was formerly a member of the Scientific Advisory Boards at Envoy (acquired by Takeda) and Ikaria.

Dr. Ulevitch received an A.B. from Washington and Jefferson College and a Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of Pennsylvania.

Daniel D. Von Hoff, M.D., F.A.C.P.

Dr. Von Hoff is currently Physician-in-Chief, Distinguished Professor and Director of Clinical Translational Research Division at TGen (Translational Genomics Research Institute) in Phoenix, Arizona. He is also Chief Scientific Officer for U.S. Oncology Network and Scottsdale Healthcare’s Clinical Research Institute. He holds an appointment as Professor of Medicine at the Mayo Clinic in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Dr. Von Hoff and his colleagues were involved in the beginning of the development of many of the anti-neoplastic agents including  mitoxantrone, fludarabine, paclitaxel, docetaxel, gemcitabine, irinotecan, nelarabine, capecitabine, lapatinib and others. Dr. Von Hoff has published more than 620 papers, 137 book chapters and over 1050 abstracts. Dr. Von Hoff received the 2010 David A. Karnofsky Memorial Award from the American Society of Clinical Oncology for his outstanding contributions to cancer research leading to significant improvement in patient care. Dr. Von Hoff was appointed to President Bush’s National Cancer Advisory Board, serving from 2004-2010.

Dr. Von Hoff is the past President of the American Association for Cancer Research (the world’s largest cancer research organization), a Fellow of the American College of Physicians, and a member and past Board Member of the American Society of Clinical Oncology. He is a founder of ILEX™ Oncology, Inc. (acquired by Genzyme). Dr. Von Hoff is the Founder and Editor Emeritus of Investigational New DrugsThe Journal of New Anticancer Agents, and Editor-in-Chief of Molecular Cancer Therapeutics. He is a Co-Founder of the AACR/ASCO Methods in Clinical Cancer Research Workshop.